rapture rupture

1. this is stupid
i say
10am kaya at my door
a photographer in our backyard

2. we link arms with the blue scarecrow
we strawberry sample
we gardenkneel
all while he tells us to keep our eye on the camera

3. shovelfull after shovelfull
of compost
bucket-hauled to front  planter
sungold tomato transplant

4. it’s not the photo on the front so much as the
quote from the little prince on the back
that gets me:

“In one of the stars I shall be living. In one of them I shall be laughing. And so it will be as if all the stars were laughing, when you look at the sky at night . . . And when your sorrow is comforted,  you will be content that you have known me. You will always be my friend. You will want to laugh with me. And you will sometimes open your window, so, for that pleasure . . . And your friends will be properly astonished to see you laughing as you look up at the sky! Then you will say to them, ‘Yes, the stars always make me laugh!’ And they will think you are crazy. It will be a very shabby trick that I shall have played on you . . .”

5. natalie and i
shake hands
while her husband jason and i fistbump
(due to car-grease fingers)
everything is 25 cents at their yard sale

6. i slip in
past metal gate
door left open 10-6
let this
be a beginning
towards cottage dreams

7. night flower mission
multi-tool concealed in hand
this will probably be the closest i ever come
to carrying a gun

8. some hot pink geraniums in a windowledge water jar
for your rapture rupture over there
in the lushness
of the rainy side of texas

9. today
the rapture looked like a cloak
rising off the ocean
and moving inland