i remember a lot of light

5:30 alarm rings in next room
same ring as my alarm
only quieter
but enough to wake me reaching
down the loft ladder to my clock

_______

across the arc of day
the morningdream disintegrated
but i remember a lot of light
and you and i in the same room

_______

wherein 3,168 immigrant workers were
rounded up, arrested and deported by I.C.E.
this week
(and 400,000 in the previous year)
how i would like to see the immigrant workers
round up the I.C.E. officers
or shifty bosses or
ever single instance of the word illegal
being applied to them/their bodies

_______

something about the 4 oclock light
and cool air
could convince one
we are closer to the ocean than we think

_______

it looks like alabaster
caroline says under the layered sky

_______

in the audience
my neck aching i wonder why
the trans person has to die
and the lesbians barely kiss