just a few rescues

the cynthia-surprise chocolate bar
and several pass-along clothing items

left outside my door
discovered upon opening it
in the morning
it’s been too long
since i’ve been porch-princed
_______
tiny frog (size of my thumbnail)
hopping from grass at edge of karma
onto my sandaled foot
and then hopping off again
_______

the rhythm of dough balling
then pressing
then rolling out and cutting in half
then dabbing the edges with water before
pinching them together to form
a cone held cupped in my left palm
while i scoop potato/spice/veggie (samosa)
filling in by the spoonful with my right
_______
the two ginormous blackberries that trish
delivers to the butcher’s block for me
just a few rescues from
where the tractor just took out the blackberry trellis
(and the vines with it)
and also sliced cynthia’s hat in half
_______
it’s all clay trish reports back
on how the digging of dennis’s grave went
_______
my shadow, bare-shouldered and bobbing before me
in the moonlight glowing
on white gravel road
as i run

Leave a comment

Filed under daily practice, poems, poetry, writing

Leave a Reply

